return to events
19 June 2018, 8:00pm
$10
concert

Queer Songbook Orchestra + Darren Creech

@ La Sala Rossa, 4848 blvd St-Laurent, Montréal

Queer Songbook Orchestra + Darren Creech

Co-presented with the Suoni Per Il Popolo Festival
 
Casting a contemporary queer eye on a century’s worth of popular song, the Queer Songbook Orchestra explore the LGBTQ backstories and personal narratives that richly populate music of the past several generations. Building a living archive of songs by queer songwriters and performers, the ensemble is drawing attention to the stories and contributions of artists who worked and lived in the shadows of intolerance. In their performance at Suoni Per Il Popolo, they will be joined by guest vocalists Safia Nolin and Beverly Glenn Copeland and storytellers Louis Negin and Gabe Maharjan.
 
Formed in 2014, the Queer Songbook Orchestra is a 12-piece chamber pop collective of queer and allied musicians from Toronto and Montreal that is dedicated to exploring the queer narratives in popular music. The ensemble has appeared at festivals across the country, including the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival, the High Performance Rodeo, the National Arts Centre, and Luminato. 
 
The evening also features an opening set by a special guest from Toronto: queer classical pianist Darren Creech, an innovative artist whose immersive combination of queer theatre, captivating costumes, and glittery hair results in unique performances which lend new relevance to the concert experience.

Having grown up in Senegal, Darren draws on his cross-cultural background to inform his unconventional approach to the stage, referencing a personal journey along the beaches of Dakar. The watery music of Maurice Ravel and Norbert Palej evoke visions of flowing water and crashing waves, and Darren pairs these musical works with poetry that he has written about his meaningful and memorable experiences in the ocean. By highlighting his own relationship to water, Darren allows the audience to reflect on their own connections to this life-giving source. 

Photo credit: Colin Medley (1) and Adam Moco (2)

retour à des événements
19 juin 2018, 20h00
10 $
concert

Queer Songbook Orchestra + Darren Creech

@ La Sala Rossa, 4848 blvd St-Laurent, Montréal

Queer Songbook Orchestra + Darren Creech

Une co-présentation avec le Festival Suoni Per Il Popolo

Jetant un regard contemporain sur le dernier siècle de chanson populaire, le Queer Songbook Orchestra explore les histoires et les récits personnels LGBTQ qui peuplent abondamment la musique de ces dernières générations. Construisant une archive vivante de chansons de compositeurs et d'interprètes queer, l'ensemble illumine les histoires et les contributions d'artistes qui ont travaillé et vécu dans l'ombre de l'intolérance. Pour leur performance à Suoni Per Il Popolo, l’ensemble sera rejoint par les chanteurs invités Safia Nolin et Beverly Glenn Copeland et par les conteurs Louis Negin et Gabe Maharjan. 
 
Formé en 2014, le Queer Songbook Orchestra est un collectif de 12 musicien-ne-s queer et alliés de Toronto et de Montréal qui se consacrent à l'exploration de récits queer dans la musique populaire. L'ensemble a participé à des festivals à travers le pays, notamment au PuSh International Performing Arts Festival, au High Performance Rodeo, au Centre national des Arts et à Luminato. 

La soirée comprend également une ouverture d'un invité spécial torontois: Darren Creech, pianiste classique queer, artiste novateur dont la combinaison immersive de théâtre queer, de costumes captivants et de cheveux scintillants crée des performances uniques qui donne une nouvelle pertinence au concert ‘classique’.

Originaire du Sénégal, l’approche non conventionnelle sur scène de Darren s'inspire de sa réalité interculturelle. Ce spectacle fait référence à un voyage personnel le long des plages de Dakar; la musique aquatique de Maurice Ravel et Norbert Palej évoquent des visions d'eau qui coule et des vagues qui s'écrasent, et Darren associe ces œuvres musicales à la poésie qu'il a rédigée sur ses expériences significatives et mémorables dans l'océan. En mettant en évidence sa propre relation à l'eau, Darren amène le public à réfléchir sur ses propres liens avec cette source de vie. 

Crédit photo: Colin Medley et Adam Moco