return to events
25 November 2018, 8pm
$15 regular, $10 students/seniors
concert

Novarumori présente

@ La Sala Rossa, 4848 blvd St-Laurent, Montréal

Novarumori présente

Connection and space: the Montreal ensemble Novarumori, known in recent years for Quebecois premieres of works by Gavin Bryars and Julius Eastman, as well as last year’s “Still Listening: An Homage to Pauline Oliveros”, returns with three world premieres for four basses and four cellos by Emilie Girard-Charest, Cecilia Arditto and Eugénie Jobin!

Emilie Girard Charest‘s Intimités expands the ensemble’s sonic landscape through the imaginative use of extended techniques and microtonality. This will be followed by the piece Distancia de rescate by Argentinian composer Cecilia Arditto, inspired by the novel of the same name by Samanta Schweblin. Psychological connections linking the novel’s characters inspired the composer to create music in which string instruments are attached to each other by chords which create a plethora of soundscapes and sonic artifacts.

Finally, Eugénie Jobin and her experimental jazz ensemble Ambroise, joined by the virtuoso trumpeter Amy Horvey, will present her newest piece. La première caresse goûte toujours la neige is a short song cycle setting the words of Marie Uguay. It is an effort to echo the quiet strength and immense love of life that emanates from her words; to sing these corporal tableaux, this white abstraction, gently.

Don’t miss this unique meeting between music at literature at the Sala Rossa!

Novarumori musicians:

Cello: Émilie Girard-Charest / Juan Sebastian Delgado / Emma Schmiedecke / Vera Ronkos

Bass: Pierre-Alexandre Maranda / Nicolas Caloia / Martin Heslop / Stéphane Diamantakiou

Direction: Isak Goldschneider

Ambroise musicians: 

Amy Horvey (flugelhorn and trumpet) / Gabriel Drolet (bass) / Frédérique Roy (accordion and voice) / Simon Labbé (guitars) / Eugénie Jobin (vibraphone and voice)

retour à des événements
25 novembre 2018, 20h
régulier 15$, réduit (étudiants / ainés) 10$
concert

Novarumori présente

@ La Sala Rossa, 4848 blvd St-Laurent, Montréal

Novarumori présente

Connexion et espace: l’ensemble montréalais Novarumori, connu ces dernières années pour les créations québécoises d’oeuvres de Gavin Bryars et de Julius Eastman, ainsi que le spectacle «Still Listening: Un hommage à Pauline Oliveros», est de retour avec trois créations pour quatre violoncelles et quatre contrebasses par Émilie Girard-Charest, Cecilia Arditto et Eugénie Jobin!

La pièce Intimités d’Émilie Girard Charest élargit le paysage sonore de l’ensemble par l’utilisation imaginative de techniques étendues et de microtonalité. Suivra Distancia de rescate de la compositrice argentine Cecilia Arditto inspirée du roman du même nom de Samanta Schweblin. Les liens psychologiques entre les personnages du roman ont inspiré la compositrice à créer de la musique dans laquelle des instruments à cordes sont attachés les uns aux autres par des accords qui créent une multitude de paysages sonores et d'artefacts sonores.

Enfin, Eugénie Jobin et son ensemble de jazz expérimental Ambroise, rejoint par la trompettiste virtuose Amy Horvey, présentera sa nouvelle création. La première caresse goûte toujours la neige est un cycle de chansons sur des textes de Marie Uguay. C’est une volonté de faire écho à la force et à l’amour de la vie qui émane de ses mots; de chanter ces tableaux du corps, cette abstraction blanche, doucement.

Ne manquez pas cette rencontre unique entre musique et littérature à la Sala Rossa!

Musicien.ne.s Novarumori :

Violoncelle : Émilie Girard-Charest / Juan Sebastian Delgado / Emma Schmiedecke / Vera Ronkos

Contrebasse : Pierre-Alexandre Maranda / Nicolas Caloia / Martin Heslop / Stéphane Diamantakiou

Direction: Isak Goldschneider

Musicien.ne.s Ambroise : 

Amy Horvey (flugelhorn et trompette) / Gabriel Drolet (contrebasse) / Frédérique Roy (accordéon et voix) / Simon Labbé (guitares) / Eugénie Jobin (vibraphone et voix)