return to events
26 May 2017, 8pm
$15 regular, $10 students/seniors
concert

Spotlight on Toronto II : Keys, Wind and Strings

@ La Sala Rossa, 4848 boul. St-Laurent

Spotlight on Toronto II : Keys, Wind and Strings

artist portrait - KWS - 2016-17

Keys, Wind and Strings (KWS) is a touring concert project of Thin Edge New Music Collective (TENMC) comprised of co-artistic directors, pianist Cheryl Duvall and violinist Ilana Waniuk with guest artists German accordionist Olivia Steimel and flautist/composer/improvisor Solomiya Moroz. Originally conceived in 2012 with the purpose of fostering the creation of new works for this unique ensemble, as well as showcasing 20th/21st century works for unusual pairings within the group, our program features the Montreal premiere of new works by Allison Cameron, Gregory Lee Newsome, Jason Doell, Germaine Liu, and Tobias Schick. Rounding out the program are performances of Marielle Groven’s ‘What happens in the house…” (2011) for piccolo, accordion and violin and Solomiya Moroz’s Continuous City of Leonia II (2015) for solo flute and live electronics with projections by Maxime Boisvert.

Described as “One of Toronto hottest and bravest new music collectives” (Michael Vincent – Musical Toronto), Thin Edge New Music Collective was founded in 2011 by co-artistic directors, pianist Cheryl Duvall and violinist Ilana Waniuk. Since its inception, TENMC has grown to include 15 of Canada’s most adventurous emerging performers and has been responsible for commissioning over 50 new chamber works by composers from Canada and abroad. In addition to presenting a Toronto based concert series, TENMC has performed on concert stages across Canada as well as participated in residencies at the Banff Centre, Avaloch Farm Music Institute New Music Initiative, and Le Pantographe in Moutier, Switzerland. Keys, Wind and Strings, a touring concert project of TENMC, has toured across Canada with generous support from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Shevchenko Foundation including performances at the University of Calgary’s Happening Festival of Music and Media, and was featured as ensemble in residence at the SoundSCAPE festival of new music in Maccagno, Italy in July 2013.

Solomiya Moroz is a Canadian artist based in the UK, pursuing a PhD in music composition at the University of Huddersfield. Moroz is interested in the hybrid forms of sound in mixed, electronic and instrumental music. Her work tends to progress towards the expansion of the music medium towards cross-disciplinary and interdisciplinary media, while expanding the role of the musicians and artists within them. Solomiya collaborates often with instrumental and electronic musicians, dancers and video artists.

Olivia Steimel is a versatile German accordionist. Dedicated to contemporary music, she has collaborated with many composers, premiering and performing their works at international festivals (Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, ECLAT Stuttgart, ZeitGenuss Karlsruhe, SoundSCAPE Maccagno, Swiss Chamber Music Circle Andermatt, Happening Festival Calgary etc.), in radio broadcasts (in Canada, Portugal, Serbia, Germany, Switzerland and Slovenia), and on CD recordings. As a soloist she has performed with Kammerorchester Basel and as a guest with orchestras such as Würzburg Philharmonic, Ensemble Phoenix Basel, Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and the International Ensemble Modern Academy. In 2012 and 2013 she was artist-in-residence at the Banff Centre in Canada. Olivia is also a member of the chamber groups Duo Steimel-Mücksch and Trio SÆITENWIND.

retour à des événements
26 mai 2017, 20h
régulier 15$, réduit (étudiants / ainés) 10$
concert

Spotlight on Toronto II : Keys, Wind and Strings

@ La Sala Rossa, 4848 boul. St-Laurent

Spotlight on Toronto II : Keys, Wind and Strings

artist portrait - KWS - 2016-17

Keys, Wind and Strings (KWS) est un projet du Thin Edge New Music Collective (TENMC) composé de co-directrices artistiques Cheryl Duvall (piano) et Ilana Waniuk (violon) avec les artistes invités Olivia Steimel (accordéon) et Solomiya Moroz (flute). Conçu à l'origine en 2012 avec l’objectif de favoriser la création de nouvelles oeuvres pour cet ensemble unique, ainsi que la mise en valeur d'œuvres du 20e / 21e siècle pour des configurations instrumentales non-traditionnelles au sein du groupe, ce programme présente la première montréalaise d’oeuvres d’Allison Cameron, de Gregory Lee Newsome, Jason Doell, Germaine Liu, et Tobias Schick. Le programme inclut également une prestation de l’oeuvre « What happens in the house ... » (2011) de Marielle Groven et «Continuous City de Leonia II (2015)» de Solomiya Moroz avec des projections de Maxime Boisvert.

---

Thin Edge New Music Collective a été fondé en 2011 par les directeurs co-artistiques, la pianiste Cheryl Duvall et la violoniste Ilana Waniuk. Depuis ses débuts, le TENMC a grandis ses nombres pour inclure 15 des artistes les plus aventureux et aventureuses du Canada et a été responsable pour la commande de plus de 50 nouvelles oeuvres de chambre de compositeurs et compositrices canadien(ne)s et de l’étranger. En plus de sa série de concerts basée à Toronto, le TENMC a joué sur des scènes à travers le Canada et a participé à des résidences au Banff Centre, au Avaloch Farm Music Institute et au Pantographe à Moutier en Suisse. Keys, Wind and Strings, projet collaboratif du TENMC, a tourné à travers le Canada avec le soutien généreux du Conseil des Arts du Canada et de la Fondation Shevchenko, y compris des représentations au Happening Festival of Music and Media de l'Université de Calgary, et a été ensemble en résidence au festival SoundSCAPE de la musique nouvelle à Maccagno (Italie) en juillet 2013.

Solomiya Moroz est une artiste canadienne basée au Royaume-Uni, poursuivant un doctorat en composition musicale à l'Université de Huddersfield. Moroz s'intéresse aux formes hybrides du son dans la musique mixte, électronique et instrumentale. Son travail a tendance à progresser vers l'expansion du milieu de la musique vers des médias interdisciplinaires et interdisciplinaires, tout en élargissant le rôle des musiciens et des artistes à l'intérieur. Elle collabore souvent avec des musicien(ne)s instrumentaux et électroniques, des danseur(se)s et des vidéastes.

Olivia Steimel est une accordéoniste allemande polyvalente. Dédiée à la musique contemporaine, elle a collaboré avec de nombreux compositeurs, créant et interprétant leurs œuvres dans des festivals internationaux (Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, ECLAT Stuttgart, ZeitGenuss Karlsruhe, SoundSCAPE Maccagno, Cercle suisse de musique de chambre Andermatt, Happening Festival Calgary etc.), sur diffusion radio (au Canada, au Portugal, en Serbie, en Allemagne, en Suisse et en Slovénie) et sur des enregistrements. En tant que soliste, elle a joué avec le Kammerorchester Basel et comme invitée par des orchestres tels l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Würzburg, l'Ensemble Phoenix Basel, la Junge Deutsche Philharmonie et l'International Ensemble Modern Academy. En 2012 et 2013, elle fut artiste en résidence au Banff Centre. Olivia est également membre des groupes de chambre Duo Steimel-Mücksch et Trio SÆITENWIND.