return to events
19 April 2013, 5:30 to 7pm
free!
concert
lecture
other
workshop

Score Reading Club // Club de lecture de partitions

@ Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur

Innovations en concert Score Reading Club

a production of Innovations en concert with the collaboration of the Quatuor Bozzini

Free entry. This April 19 edition of the Score Reading Club will take place largely in English on account of our British guests

5:30 to 7:00 – Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur. Snacks to follow.

Innovations en concert and the Quatuor Bozzini join forces to present the inaugural IEC “Score Reading Club”. This free and open event is of special interest to performers and composers of experimental music, and is particularly welcoming to the general public and those new to new music.

This first edition hosts two artists visiting from England: pianist Philip Thomas, one of Europe’s foremost aesthetic explorers, and Bryn Harrison, a visionary composer of “music caught between disintegration and rebirth”. The first visit to Montreal of these two internationally significant artists, this is an occasion not to be missed!

1- Philip Thomas presents the composer Laurence Crane, followed by a short concert

Philip Thomas discusses and performs a monumental work of Laurence Crane, one of the mentors of the 2013 Quatuor Bozzini Composer’s Kitchen workshop: Piano Piece 23: Ethiopian Distance Runners

2-Bryn Harrison speaks about his new composition Vessels, and Howard Skempton’s Tendrils

Bryn Harrison speaks about his new work Vessels, written for Philip Thomas, to be performed at our concert April 20. Vessels is inspired by Howard Skempton’s compostion Tendrils, a work which you will hear later this evening performed by the Quatuor Bozzini.

“The sound world seemed to me to be either microscopic or cosmic in its dimensions. Finally I landed on the image of a tiny nucleus controlling the action of an entire planet of water.” – reviewer Jennie Gottschalk speaking about Harrison’s music

This event is made possible through a Visiting Foreign Artist grant of the Canada Council for the Arts.

retour à des événements
19 avril 2013, 17h 30 à 19h
gratuit!
concert
conférences
autres
atelier

Score Reading Club // Club de lecture de partitions

@ Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur

 

Innovations en concert - Club de lecture de partitions

une production d’Innovations en concert, en collaboration avec le Quatuor Bozzini

Entrée libre, cette édition du Club de lecture de partitions aura lieu principalement en anglais en raison de nos invités britanniques.

17h30 à 19h - Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur, Casse-croûte à suivre.

Innovations en concert et le Quatuor Bozzini unissent leurs forces pour présenter la première édition d’IEC - Club de lecture de partitions. Ces événements gratuits et ouverts à tous sont d’un grand intérêt pour les interprètes et les compositeurs de musique expérimentale, et sont particulièrement accueillants pour le public en général et les néophytes en musique contemporaine.

Cette première édition accueille deux artistes d’Angleterre: le pianiste Philip Thomas, l'un des explorateurs de l'avant-garde européenne, et Bryn Harrison, un compositeur visionnaire dont la musique est qualifiée d’être à la limite «de la désintégration et de la renaissance». La première visite à Montréal de ces deux artistes d'importance internationale est une occasion à ne pas manquer!

1 - Courte présentation de Philip Thomas sur le compositeur Laurence Crane suivi d’un court concert

Philip Thomas discutera d'un œuvre monumentale de Laurence Crane, un des mentors du Composer’s Kitchen 2013 du Quatuor Bozzini, suivie d'un court concert: Piano Piece 23: Ethiopian Distance Runners

2 - Bryn Harrison parlera de sa nouvelle composition Vessels, et Tendrils de Howard Skempton

Pièce écrite pour Philip Thomas, qui sera interprétée lors du concert à la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur le 20 avril, 20 h. “Vessels” est inspiré par l’oeuvre d’Howard Skempton “Tendrils”, présenté plus tard ce soir par le Quatuor Bozzini.

"Le monde sonore me semblait être soit microscopique ou cosmique dans ses dimensions. Enfin je suis tombé sur l'image d'un petit noyau contrôlant l'action d'une planète entière d’eau " - Jennie Gottschalk - blogeuse Sound Expanse - à propos de la musique de Bryn Harrison

 

Cet événement est rendu possible grâce au soutien du programme de visite d’artistes étrangers du Conseil des Arts du Canada.